Five Citizens Pull Papers To Run For Murphy's Select Board Seat

Jason Graziadei •

Five citizens have pulled nomination papers to run for the Select Board seat being vacated by Melissa Murphy, who is stepping down to enroll in law school.

The potential candidates include: David Iverson; Malcolm MacNab; Stephen Payer; Antoinette “Toni” Robinson; and Clifford Williams. Island resident Kathy Richen is also expected to pull nomination papers this week.

They will all compete in the Nov. 8 election, seeking to fill out the remaining six months of Murphy’s term. The full three-year seat on the Select Board will be up for grabs in the annual town election next May.

Carl Borchert, who last month indicated he intended to run for Murphy’s seat in November, withdrew his name from consideration and said he will not be pulling nomination papers.

“Given the lack of civility and justified frustration with town government making the level of political discourse acrimonious and toxic I have decided to withdraw my candidacy for the Select Board,” Borchert said in a statement.

To get their name on the ballot, candidates need to return their papers before Oct. 4 with the signatures of at least 50 people who are registered voters of Nantucket.

Loading Ad
Loading Ad
Loading Ad