Hospital Presents Awards At 112th Annual Meeting

Nantucket Current •

Nantucket Cottage Hospital

Nantucket Cottage Hospital presented a series of awards last Friday during its 112th Annual Meeting to recognize individuals and community organizations  for their contributions to the hospital and the island.

Marissa Teramae, NCH ultrasound technician, was chosen as this year’s recipient of the Seinfeld/Hartmann Prize for Compassionate Medical Care. The patient who nominated Marissa praised her respect, integrity, empathy, and communication.

“She showed empathy through her actions and words throughout our time working together," said the patient who nominated Teramae for the award. "She understood what I was going through, and she made every effort to make it easier for me. She was my absolute rock during that time and made me feel so safe and supported through an extremely anxious time. She made me feel like she actually cared about me and the outcome of my pregnancy, and that felt really good.”

Judy Seinfeld Marissa Teramae Jason Graziadei 1536x1321
From left: Judy Seinfeld, Marissa Teramae, award committee member Jason Graziadei.

The Sandy Craig Leadership Award was presented to Margaretta Andrews, in recognition of her service to NCH - where she served as both an employee and a member of the Board of Trustees - as well as her work leading the Community Foundation For Nantucket.

The Sandy Craig Leadership Award is given each year in memory of Alexander “Sandy” M. Craig, Jr. to a member of the community who has made a positive contribution to the island through Nantucket Cottage Hospital.

Amy Lee Margaretta Andrews
NCH President Amy Lee and Margaretta Andrews.

The Phil Murray Business Award was presented to Fairwinds Counseling Center. The Phil Murray Business Award is given in memory of Philip Chase Murray to a business that has made a positive impact on the island over the past year. Nantucket Cottage Hospital president Amy Lee noted Fairwinds' response to the island's mental health challenges and recent suicides, as well as its partnership with NCH on crisis response. 

Amanda Wright Amy Lee Jason Bridges Morgan Baker 1536x1307
From left: Amanda Wright, of Fairwinds, Amy Lee, of NCH, and Jason Bridges, and Morgan Baker of Fairwinds.

The Bruce A. Percelay Philanthropy Award was presented to Bill Kupper, a member of the hospital's development and marketing committees who helped spearhead a revitalization of the hospital's golf tournament event.

Amy Lee Bill Kupper
Amy Lee and Bill Kupper.

The Myrt Eldridge Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to three long-time volunteers: Toby Greenberg, Ann Oliver, and Randy Wight.

Loading Ad
Loading Ad
Loading Ad

Current News