Nantucket Seniors Of The Year Nomination Period Is Open

Nantucket Current •


Nominations are open for Nantucket's 2023 Senior Man and Senior Woman of the Year. The awards, which began in 1988, recognize extraordinary volunteer contributions by seniors to the Nantucket community. Nominees must be at least 60 years old, enthusiastically involved as a volunteer in the community, and a role model for seniors.

Seniors who are not eligible for the awards include employees of the senior center, Elder Services of Cape Cod and the Islands, or members of the Council on Aging.

You can download a printable nomination form by clicking here. Confidential nominations can be sent to Laura Stewart, the program coordinator at the Saltmarsh Center via email at or they can be drop off or mail the forms to the Saltmarsh Center at 81 Washington Street, Nantucket, MA, 02554.

The deadline for applications is Friday, April 28 at 1:00 p.m. and the winners will be announced on Wednesday, May 3 at the Nantucket Council of Aging's regularly scheduled meeting.

Below is a list of the previous winners of the award, which stretches back to 1988.

1988: Faith Oldham

1989: Paul Whitten

1990: Sylvia Maltby

1991: Beatrice Santos

1992: Anna Mclean

1993: Fredrick Cook

1994: Joseph Souza

1995: Gertrude Bernard

1996: John Maury

1997: Alcon Chadwick

1998: K Anne diCurcio

1999: Rev. Ted Anderson

2000: Jane Harter2001: Jareaseh St. Jean

2002: James King

2003: Peggy & Keith Krewson

2004: Christine P. Santos and Reginald T. Reed

2005: Eileen McGrath and Rev. Warren Gritzke

2006: C. Jean Egan and Eldridge “Nick” Norton

2007: Mary Glowacki and John McLaughlin

2008: Joan Ottinger and Robert F. Mooney

2009: Louise G. McGarvey and Joseph Aguiar

2010: Louise Benoit and Manny Dias

2011: Jackie Seidel and Phil Read2012: Randy Wight and Paul Connors

2013: Sara Johnsen and Francis Pease

2014: Emma Rusch and Michael Varbalow

2015: Maureen Beck and Augie Ramos

2016: Helene Blair and Maurice Gibbs

2017: Fran Karttunen and Ned Wight

2018: Peggy Kaufman and Allen Reinhard

2019: Jeanette Topham and Peter Richards

2020: *No recipients due to Covid-19 pandemic*

2021: Joanne Polster and Ritch Leone

2022: Barbara Kotalac and Bill Grieder

Loading Ad
Loading Ad
Loading Ad

Current News