Town Election Field Set: Three-Way Race For Select Board

Nantucket Current •

IMG 1569

A three-way race for a seat on the Select Board highlights a competitive field of candidates in the May 21st annual town election that will feature six contested races. Wednesday was the deadline for candidates to return their nomination papers to the town clerk's office, and now the field is officially set.

Select Board chair Dawn Hill Holdgate is seeking reelection to a fourth term, and will be challenged by former Select Board member Rick Atherton, and Clifford Williams, who is embarking on his 14th attempt for a seat on the board. A fourth candidate, Jon-Erik Nelson, returned his nomination papers but was informed by the town clerk's office on Thursday that he was one verified signature short of making it on the ballot.

The other contested races include:

Planning Board: 

  • David Iverson, incumbent
  • Campbell Sutton

School Committee: 

  • Laura Gallagher Byrne, incumbent
  • Diane Flaherty
  • Esmeralda Martinez, incumbent

Land Bank:

  • John Bartlett
  • John Stackpole, incumbent
  • Kelly Steffen

Community Preservation Committee: 

  • Jesse Dutra
  • Katherine "Kit" Murphy
  • Neville Richen, incumbent
  • Tim Soverino, incumbent

Historic District Commission: 

  • Angus Macleod
  • Joseph Paul
Screen Shot 2024 03 10 at 10 20 24 PM

The following candidates are running unopposed:

  • Sarah Alger, moderator
  • Andy Lowell, Harbor & Shellfish Advisory Board
  • Bob DeCosta, Harbor & Shellfish Advisory Board
  • Allen Reinhard, Water Commission
  • Robert Benchley, Water Commission
Loading Ad
Loading Ad
Loading Ad

Current News