Brooke Mohr Elected Chair Of Nantucket Select Board

JohnCarl McGrady •

IMG 3740
The Select Board gathered the day after the Annual Town Election to vote for officers following the swearing-in ceremony for Dawn Hill Holdgate at the Town & County Building courtroom on Broad Street.

Brooke Mohr was chosen as chair of the Select Board at a brief meeting Tuesday morning, with five-term Select Board member Matt Fee elected vice chair.

Brooke Mohr

Both votes were unanimous, though Select Board member Malcolm MacNab did initially nominate Fee for chair. Fee declined the nomination, indicating he would prefer to be vice chair.

Fee was nominated for vice-chair last year, but Mohr was chosen over him on a 3-2 vote. With Mohr assuming the position of chair, Fee was the sole nominee for vice chair and took the position on a unanimous vote.

Mohr, who served as vice chair on the most recent iteration of the board, will be taking over for outgoing chair Dawn Hill Holdgate. Holdgate narrowly defeated former Select Board member Rick Atherton in Tuesday’s election but was not nominated to return as the board’s chief officer. The selection of officers came after Holdgate took her oath and was sworn in for another term on the Select Board, her fourth.

The potential for a recount still hangs over Holdgate’s election, decided by a mere eight votes, with Atherton currently undecided on whether to call for one. For now, Holdgate is the election’s winner and has assumed her position on the board. She will serve as a member of the board and vote on decisions along with the others while Atherton makes his decision, which could take as long as ten days from election night.

Loading Ad
Loading Ad
Loading Ad

Current News