Full Ride: Golf Club Announces The 2023 Nantucket Scholars

Jason Graziadei •

NGC23 Scholarhip 0004
The Nantucket Scholars finalists, with Nantucket Golf Club Foundation executive director Tom Bresette. Photo by Barbara Clarke

The Nantucket Golf Club announced the 2023 Nantucket Scholars tonight: Nantucket High School seniors Ellie Kinsella and Wes Thornewill who will receive full four-year college scholarships for all tuition and fees from the club.

Kinsella will be attending Northeastern University and Thornewill will be attending Boston University.

“It was sort of unbelievable, Thornewill said of hearing his name called. “In the moment, it didn’t feel real. There were a lot of emotions. A lot of gratitude.”

For Kinsella, “It was so surreal,” she said. “It felt like everything paused for a second. It was really rewarding and I’m so happy about the results and proud of all the finalists.”

NGC23 Scholarhip 0006
Nantucket Scholars winners Ellie Kinsella and Wes Thornewill. Photo by Barbara Clarke.

This year for the first time, the Foundation is also awarding the remaining nine finalists a renewable $5,000 four-year scholarship to the school of their choice. Those finalists include Diogo De Lima Dias, Aidan Sullivan, Eliza Brown, Karson Wellington, Kipper Buccino, Mihail Minevski, Quinn Keating, Ryan Whelden, and Sarah Swenson.

“We are very pleased that in addition to continuing the tradition of the two annual Nantucket Scholars, we are offering college scholarships to all of our finalists this year.” said Tom Bresette, Executive Director of the Nantucket Golf Club Foundation. “This would not be possible without the support of the NGCF Board, NGC members and guests, and the Nantucket community.”

NGC23 Scholarhip 0104
NGC23 Scholarhip 0105
NGC23 Scholarhip 0130 1

The Nantucket Scholar Program is now in its 18th year. The program requires a six-month long review process, and year’s process began with an informational assembly in November at the high school. Seniors and their parents were invited to a presentation and applications were made available along with an opportunity to ask questions. The application includes two written essays, sections for extra-curricular activities, community service and academic honors, one confidential teacher recommendation and an employer recommendation, all due in early January.

Selected applicants participate in an interview and presentation process throughout the late winter and spring. The five-member review committee include Tom Bresette, Mandy Vasil - NHS Principal, Alan Cunha – Owner, Le Languedoc Inn and Bistro, Kelsey Perkins – NHS Nurse and one of the first Nantucket Scholars (2006), and Kate Hickson – NHS Spanish teacher and CPS/NHS World Language Department Leader. Susan McFarland serves as the Foundation’s Data Coordinator for all past and present Scholars.

NGC23 Scholarhip 0163
Loading Ad
Loading Ad
Loading Ad

Current News